Browse By Genre

Category:
Keywords:
Author::
User Rating:

99 Days

Hot
March 17, 2016  
 
3.8 (2)
1187   0   1   0   0   0
Write Review
99 Days

Info

Publish Date:
ISBN:
9780062216380
Pages:
384pp
Reading Age:
Genre:
Available On Overdrive
Yes
Check Availability

Overview

This New York Times bestselling novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sarah Dessen, and Morgan Matson, is now in paperback.

Molly Barlow is facing one long, hot summer—99 days—with the boy whose heart she broke and the boy she broke it for . . . his brother.

Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything. She has every right to hate me, of course: I broke Patrick Donnelly’s heart the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college and be done.

Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe wouldn’t quit till he got me to come to this party, and I’m surprised to find I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.8
Story held my interest 
 
3.8  (2)
Writing style 
 
3.5  (2)
Characters 
 
4.0  (2)
Ratings (the higher the better)
Story held my interest
Writing style
Characters
User Review
Discuss the setting and the role it played. Describe when and where the story takes place.
Who are the main characters? What problems or conflicts does each character face in the book? Briefly describe each character.
What are the good points of this book? What did the author do well? Tell why you liked the book.
What, if any, were the bad points in the book? What did you feel the author did poorly? Tell why you didn't like the book.
This is where you give a brief summary of the book. Tell about at least two events that took place in the story. Don't give away the ending but give a 20 second synopsis that describes the story.
Without giving away the ending tell whether or not the ending was satisfying. Did the end fit the story?
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Story held my interest 
 
4.5
Writing style 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.5

User Review

Setting
The setting of the story is when Molly returns back home to Star Lake in the summer after running away from her problems. Not a single person forgot what Molly did to Patrick with his brother Gabe. She was scared to be back because she knew she would get hateful people that wouldn’t let her live down that she cheated on Partick with Gabe.
Characters
The main character is Molly, she did something that nobody can forget and won't let her live it down but she cheated on her boyfriend Patrick with his brother Gabe. She definitely felt bad about it but she can’t change how she feels, she is torn between which brother she likes the most. The girl that has the biggest problem with how Molly cheated would be Julia. The day Molly got back from running away from her problems Julia egged her house because she obviously didn’t forgive Molly for the actions she had taken. Molly gets why Julia is mad but she doesn’t get why she is harassing her over something she had nothing to do with, the only thing she could think of is that he is the cutest boy in school.
Good Points
This book is written in first person because Molly is the one telling the story. I think that the book is overall written super good. I liked the how things were phrased to the point where you didn’t have to try to figure out what the point was, it was just right in front of you and you could just move right along in the book.
Bad Points
The only thing that I didn’t like about this book was that it wasn’t really challenging and it’s meant to be for my age group and I don’t feel it was to the level it could have been. Overall it was a really good book and I would definitely recommend it to anyone that is into drama like situations that you don’t actually have to be a part of.
Plot Summary
The book I read was 99 Days by Katie Cotugno. It’s about a girl that is in love with two guys, two brothers. She does something that could ruin everything with both guys but doesn’t know until she tells both of them what is going on. She feels really bad and guilty about what she did but she can’t do anything about it, she did it and can’t take it back. She didn’t think she could stand being in a town where everyone would judge her so she left.
Ending
The ending was very satisfying because it definitely fit with the book and it was a good ending. But it wasn’t something I was hoping for. But it made me think about how there is a double standard when people cheat, like if a female cheats she gets called a slut and gets bullied but if a male would be the one to cheat he wouldn’t get any of the hate a female would. Don’t be that person who is a bully in any situation because you don’t know the full story, there are always two sides to every story so don’t judge until you know the hard facts from everyone involved.
Do you recommend this book?
Yes
Language
PG-13
Sexual Content
PG-13
Violence
PG
Drug and Alcohol Use
PG
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Story held my interest 
 
3.0
Writing style 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.5

User Review

Setting

In the novel the setting is in a place by the name of Star Lake. This place is bright and sunny. It was cold and you could see the pine trees and the mildew smell coming from the lake. It was a very urban setting. The main setting in the novel is Star Lake. Also known as the place of torture and despair for Molly. Molly left to finish her senior year at a new school in Bristol. Bristol is an all-girls boarding school in the middle of a desert outside of Tempe, Arizona. Then she came back to star lake and the rest of the book takes place here.

Characters
Molly Barlow is the protagonist. She has a very divided relationship with her mother. The author made her point of view of her mistake very clear. The author did a really good job describing how Molly thought of herself. Even though I personally didn’t want to root her on because she cheated on her boyfriend in the novel. I have a very uneasy feeling when I read about cheating. I had a hard time rooting for Molly because she cheated. It was really a decision she made. She has to deal with the consequences. Most of those consequences were too extreme though. Molly has a really difficult relationship with her mom. Diana Barlow is Molly’s adoptive mother. Diana is a bestselling author. She likes to be barefoot, she had dark nails and a rose tattoo on her ankle. Diana and Molly have problems in their relationship because Diana decided it would be a good idea to write a book entitled Driftwood. This book is based on Molly cheating on her boyfriend at the time Patrick Donnelly. Diana is written as a very strong character, she has her mind set the way she thinks and no one can change her point of view. Molly and Diana’s relationship is very rocky in the novel and I think it helps us to feel what they were feeling. I don’t really appreciate Diana getting money off of her daughter’s intimate life, but she is a great character. Molly cheated on Patrick with his brother Gabe. Patrick Donnelly has been friends with Molly since birth. Their parents were friends. Patrick is rude, at a poor sport when he plays games. He is also on the Lacrosse team. Patrick was written at the beginning as the innocent one. That he was just a victim and was sweet. When in all reality the book takes a turn at the end. That makes Patrick just as bad as his brother Gabe. I am not a big fan of Patrick. Gabe Donnelly is Patrick’s older brother. He cheated with Molly. Molly made a mistake that resulted in her losing Gabe as well. Patrick had a big role in her losing Gabe as a boyfriend. Gabe was loved by everyone. Nobody cared that he helped Molly with cheating on Patrick. Gabe was written as a great character. He was my favorite in the novel even though he helped cheat on Patrick. Gabe is a very interesting character. These three characters made Molly’s feelings get changed very drastically and made her made not very good decisions.
Good Points
The Author did a good job making Molly relatable. I think one of the most important thing in a novel is how much a reader can relate. They focused on real issues. It made the story more enjoyable. I liked the book because throughout the novel Katie Cotugno tried really hard to portray what she wanted. The author wrote in first person;
Bad Points
I don’t believe she was as skilled of a writer. It was a very easy read, it wasn’t very much of a challenge. As I explained before I felt that the author put a lot of effort into the book, but I believe she just gave up in the end. The ending made me very upset. I wanted such a different ending. I felt that she didn’t try very hard to finish the novel in a better way. Plus, I hated the double standards set in the book. Molly was treated horribly and bullied while Gabe was seen as normal Gabe. He did not get called names or get bullied. When Molly did. It set a double standard.
Plot Summary
Every book serves a certain purpose. The book 99 days by Katie Cotugno serves a great purpose. Katie Cotungo is a New York bestselling author. Molly Barlow is the main character of this novel. Molly is hated severely by everyone in Star Lake. The first day back in Star Lake Molly’s house is egged, and has horrible names screamed at her by the surrounding neighborhood kids. The mistakes that she has made keeps following her. She cannot seem to get over her mistakes. The book is a story based on the 99 days until the time that Molly can go off to college in Boston. The only problem is she has no clue what to major in. Molly goes through the breakup with her boyfriend Patrick. whom she has known since she was in diapers. To the relationship with Gabe that ends in a breakup because she made a very bad decision.
Ending
I did not like the ending because I felt that it was not substantial. This book was not what I thought it would be. The ending was so upsetting because it was so strange. I think this book has served a purpose in my life. Despite the horrible ending. The information I got from the book is that I should not make the same mistake twice and you should not let your past define you as a person. I believe the author was trying to portray a point based on double standards, and how you get through making a decision that makes everybody dislike you. Overall I would give the book three stars.
Do you recommend this book?
Yes
Language
PG-13
Sexual Content
PG-13
Violence
PG
Drug and Alcohol Use
PG-13
Powered by JReviews
1.
Outpost
 
4.2
Lori Yates
3.
Exorcism of Sofia Flores, The
 
4.8
Lori Yates
4.
Plague Land
 
4.7
Lori Yates
5.
City Love
 
2.5
Tristan
6.
Buried
 
5.0
Victoria Valdes
7.
Naruto, Volume 72
 
5.0
Eduardo Sevilla
8.
Demon in the Freezer, The
 
3.5
Jonathon Combs
9.
Long Game, The
 
5.0
Audrea Claypool
10.
Dust of Eden
 
4.2
Ana Franco
11.
If You're Reading This
 
4.7
JayJay Hassan
12.
Subway Love
 
3.3
Caelan
13.
All the Light We Cannot See
14.
Soldier Boy
 
4.5
Eddie
15.
Odd Thomas
 
4.5
Adrian Batalla
16.
Art of Racing in the Rain, The
 
4.5
Erik Miranda
17.
Asylum
 
4.3
Eduardo
18.
Fuzzy Mud
 
4.0
Tate
19.
Colossus Rises, The
 
4.3
joseph wally
20.
Go Ask Alice
 
4.7
Carla Zaragoza
21.
When
 
4.7
DENNIS
22.
Child Called It, A
 
5.0
Ashley Christison
23.
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
 
5.0
Lou Harris
24.
Survive the Night
 
4.7
Jackie Mousley
25.
Maybe One Day
 
4.2
Dakota