Browse By Genre

Category:
Keywords:
Author::
Series::
User Rating:

Long Game, The

March 13, 2017  
 
5.0 (1)
248   0   1   0   0   0
Write Review
Long Game, The

Info

Publish Date:
ISBN:
9781619635968
Pages:
368pp
Reading Age:
Series Vol.#:
02
Genre:
Check Availability

Overview

For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate's campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets.

Meanwhile, Tess's guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can--and cannot--be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in Washington, but she's about to discover first-hand that power always comes with a price.

Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Ally Carter, the second book in this thrilling series will leave readers breathless.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Story held my interest 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing style 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Ratings (the higher the better)
Story held my interest
Writing style
Characters
User Review
Discuss the setting and the role it played. Describe when and where the story takes place.
Who are the main characters? What problems or conflicts does each character face in the book? Briefly describe each character.
What are the good points of this book? What did the author do well? Tell why you liked the book.
What, if any, were the bad points in the book? What did you feel the author did poorly? Tell why you didn't like the book.
This is where you give a brief summary of the book. Tell about at least two events that took place in the story. Don't give away the ending but give a 20 second synopsis that describes the story.
Without giving away the ending tell whether or not the ending was satisfying. Did the end fit the story?
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Story held my interest 
 
5.0
Writing style 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0

Tess, cleaner of this mess.

User Review

Setting
The setting is in Washington D.C. that could happen if our presidents name is ever George Nolan. So the story could be taking place at any time. This allows for the close relations to politics and the danger is upped in a setting so close to the white house.
Characters
First is Tess, full name Theresa Kendrick Keyes and she attracts lot´s of attention she does not want. She is not a fan of people unless it is Vivvie, Henry and Asher. She faces helping Emilia-Asher´s twin sister- win student council elections, Avoiding clubs and extra circulars he grandfather want her to join. Vivvie is Tess´s best friend and also the opposite of Tess. Vivvie is super optimistic and smiley even though her dad killed himself. Henry is best friend of Asher and he keeps Asher out of trouble and has enough skill to run for student body president. Henry is dealing with the death of his grandfather. Asher is wild and almost uncontrollable, likes doing things that could get him into trouble and is constantly seeking any opportunity he can to cause some explosions. He doesn see anything as a conflict unless he is grounded.
Emilia, Ashers twin, is aiming high for the top school in the country and she doesn want anything to get in her way, but bullies and candidates competing for student body president complicate things.
Good Points
There is always a constant flow and it doesn skip around and the characters are so unique and are like real people they are put into image so well in the usage of Barnes words. I love the vividness of everything and the sense of familiarity in the wild world portrayed as high school life in D.C.
Bad Points
Nothing was done poorly but she puts her characters through some pretty gruesome stuff but there are good qualities in that too.
Plot Summary
Asher gets suspended from school and when he gets caught lurking on school grounds he gets blamed for a murder. As if enough stuff was not already going on with the terrorists doing their terrorist thing. Ivy is not any help with the super absorbed into her own business habit she has so Tess has to deal with things on her own. Things like escaping from her school which experiences a terrorist attack and then she has to tell Ivy. What Ivy did not know was that Tess was allowed to escape and the terrorists would start killing students if she did not come back.
Ending
The ending fit snug as a bug in a rug. The flow in the Long Game is amazing and it really wraps things up but leaves room so if Tess feels like getting caught up in more trouble the door is wide open and practically tells of another book to come and I simply can not wait.
Do you recommend this book?
Yes
Language
PG
Sexual Content
PG
Violence
PG-13
Drug and Alcohol Use
PG-13
Powered by JReviews
1.
Outpost
 
4.2
Lori Yates
3.
Exorcism of Sofia Flores, The
 
4.8
Lori Yates
4.
Plague Land
 
4.7
Lori Yates
5.
City Love
 
2.5
Tristan
6.
Buried
 
5.0
Victoria Valdes
7.
Naruto, Volume 72
 
5.0
Eduardo Sevilla
8.
Demon in the Freezer, The
 
3.5
Jonathon Combs
9.
Long Game, The
 
5.0
Audrea Claypool
10.
Dust of Eden
 
4.2
Ana Franco
11.
If You're Reading This
 
4.7
JayJay Hassan
12.
Subway Love
 
3.3
Caelan
13.
All the Light We Cannot See
14.
Soldier Boy
 
4.5
Eddie
15.
Odd Thomas
 
4.5
Adrian Batalla
16.
Art of Racing in the Rain, The
 
4.5
Erik Miranda
17.
Asylum
 
4.3
Eduardo
18.
Fuzzy Mud
 
4.0
Tate
19.
Colossus Rises, The
 
4.3
joseph wally
20.
Go Ask Alice
 
4.7
Carla Zaragoza
21.
When
 
4.7
DENNIS
22.
Child Called It, A
 
5.0
Ashley Christison
23.
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
 
5.0
Lou Harris
24.
Survive the Night
 
4.7
Jackie Mousley
25.
Maybe One Day
 
4.2
Dakota